Islands of the Great Barrier Reef

A profile on each of the reef's main islands.
There are over 600 islands that make up the main archipelago of the Great Barrier Reef, with some being home to several of the most spectacular resort accommodation facilities and areas in Australia, and others totally uninhabited.
The main core group of islands which draw hundreds of thousands of tourists to tropical north Queensland every year include those listed below.
Select an island below for more information:

Want to view a full range of Great Barrier Reef tours, activities and other experiences?